Am I a Fool For Believing in Creationism?

I can still remember sitting in my middle school science room as a short and awkward kid watching “Bill Nye the Science Guy.” We loved it (mostly because in middle school you were excited any time you could watch a video instead of listening to a lecture). However, as a Christian I had to listen carefully. Not everything that he said was something I agreed with. This became even more evident this week.

Bill Nye recently released a video for “Big Think” on YouTube in which he expresses the need for our country to let go of Creationism and accept the reliability of Evolution. He even went on to say that if grown-ups “want to deny evolution and live in your world that’s completely inconsistent with the world we observe, that’s fine. But don’t make your kids do it. Because we need them. We need scientifically literate voters and taxpayers for the future. We need engineers that can build stuff and solve problems.” In other words, those who believe that God created the world are foolish and need to wake up.

I’m not writing this blog so that Christians will post hateful things about Bill Nye. That’s certainly not what Christians are called to do. Remember that he’s not alone in what he believes.

I’m also not writing this to start an argument with those who disagree (though I would love to have the opportunity to sit down with those individuals and have a respectful conversation about it*). Those types of arguments too often go around in circles and never result in anything positive.

Instead, I’m simply writing this article to reassure those who are Christians that there is nothing foolish about believing in a God who created the world. Here’s why:

The universe had to come from somewhere.

As a Christian, this idea has always been my anchor for believing in God. Even in moments when I found myself questioning my belief system, this principle helped pull me back. The truth is, our universe had to have come from somewhere. The only two options are that it has always existed or at some point it came into existence. Since we know that matter can’t be eternal (even scientists recognize this with the Second Law of Thermodynamics), the universe must have a beginning. My question is this: Is it more reasonable to believe that the universe (or whatever Evolutionists would say came before our universe) just popped into existence, ignoring the Law of Cause and Effect, or that there is a God who created the universe? Some may try to convince you that believing God created the universe is like believing in magic. I, on the other hand, cannot think of anything more magical than an entire universe popping into existence with nothing causing it to do so. To me, that’s not foolish. That’s using reason.

I know there are many other reasons for believing in God as a Creator. However, I believe this one alone is enough to show that we as Christians are not ignorant fools. We can reason as well.

*If you disagree, I would love to spend some time talking with you about it. Rather than commenting on the blog (I’ve never known any issue to be resolved via the comments section), please email me at jbroberts1986@gmail.com. It won’t be a me vs. you kind of conversation. Let’s just look at the facts together. I enter every conversation with an open mind and heart. I just ask you’ll do the same.

About jbroberts

I'm a preacher student at the Bear Valley Bible Institute of Denver. View all posts by jbroberts

One response to “Am I a Fool For Believing in Creationism?

Leave a Reply

